Skip to content

Jana’s also onto something in that she doesn’t use titles.

October 26, 2009

I’m ass-busy, you guys.

But no more so than I normally am, to be honest. I fail at getting everything necessary accomplished most of the time. So, I’m failing these days about as much as I’ve been failing all semester. Sure, there are late-Fall specific deadlines looming, supervisors’ patience running out, and piles upon piles of student work to evaluate, but there have been expectations I’ve failed to live up to and tasks I’ve failed to accomplish all along the way from the fresh potential of early-Fall to where we find ourselves: here, at the cusp of November.

This life, this parenting life, this incredible juggling act, pushes me toward thinking, feeling, writing, living, clichés. Like “juggling act.” Like, “there aren’t enough hours in the day.”

Jana, my sometime internet twin, is feeling the packed-life-blog-rut I’m feeling. She seems tempted to give up blogging for awhile–but instead she plans to go on a reverse-hiatus. A post every day for 30 days.

November is upon us, and those of you who don’t care know about the blog-centric calendar might not realize it is almost “NaBloPoMo”: National Blog Posting Month. The challenge is to post every day for the month of November.

The attrition rate on self-imposed low-stakes challenges with an audience of possibly the most passive enforcers? HIGH.

But I think I’ll attempt to probably fail at do that super annoying blog-thing where you promise to post and then don’t and then apologize like anybody was actually let down join Jana in her personal challenge of daily posting, and blog-nerds across this great land (what nation does “National” refer to, anyway?) by doing so in November.

This gives me a few days before I start. Like starting a diet after the weekend’s over, I have a few pies to eat piles of papers to grade before I start churnin’ out entries.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 8:50 pm

    Holy crap, this makes me feel famous! It’s like my name in lights, except really it’s my name in 18-point Times New Roman font!

    I’m glad you’re doing this, though, too, because I love to read your postings, no matter how non-newsworthy. Plus, I’m still waiting to read part 3 of Henry’s birth story.

    I also felt really dorky when I declared my whole “I’m posting daily for a month!” just a few days before realizing that November is specifically for that impetus in the blogging world. So maybe I’ll post daily for a month and a half.

    Also: pie. Mmmm.

  2. bigpreg permalink*
    November 1, 2009 5:51 pm

    Dude, we’re on part 4 of the birth story. Because I can’t tell a concise story to save my life.

  3. November 1, 2009 8:13 pm

    I lost count! I am an English student, not so good with the maths.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

